Visas Requirement to Egypt



Non-Egyptian visitors arriving in Egypt are required to be in possession of a valid passport. Entry visas may be obtained from Egyptian Diplomatic and Consular Missions Abroad or from the Entry Visa Department at the Travel Documents, Immigration and Nationality Administration (TDINA). It is, however, possible for most tourists and visitors to obtain an entry visa at any of the Major Ports of Entry. Please check with your nearest Egyptian Consular mission for more details concerning visa regulations applying to your citizenship.

Notes:

- Visitors entering Egypt at the overland border post to Taba to visit Gulf of Aqaba coast and St. Catherine can be exempted from visa and granted a free residence permit for fourteen days to visit the area.
- Citizens of the following countries are required to be in possession of a pre-arrival visa: Afghanistan, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Chechnya, Croatia, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kirghizia, Lebanon, Macau, Macedonia, Malaysia, Moldavia, Montenegro, Morocco, Pakistan, Palestine, The Philippines, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, Sri-Lanka, Tadzhikistan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and all African countries.
- Residents of the above countries may apply for a visa through their nearest Egyptian Consulate or Embassy

There are three types of Egyptian visa:

- Tourist Visa: is usually valid for a period not exceeding three months and granted on either single or multiple entry basis.
- Entry Visa: is required for any foreigner arriving in Egypt for purposes other than tourism, e.g. work, study, etc. The possession of a valid Entry Visa is needed to complete the residence procedure in Egypt.
- **Transit Visa.**

Major Ports of Entry to Egypt:

Airports:

- Cairo International (2 terminals)
- Alexandria Nozha
- Luxor, Upper Egypt
- Aswan, Upper Egypt
- Hurghaga, Red Sea
- Sharm El-Sheikh, South Sina

Marine Harbors:

- Alexandria, Mediterranean
- Port Said, Mediterranean
- Damietta, Mediterranean
- Suez, Gulf of Suez
- Nuweiba, Gulf of Aqaba
- Hurghada, Red Sea
- Safaga, Red Sea
- Sharm El-Sheikh, Red Sea

Overland Entry Posts:

- Salloum, northwestern border (to and from Libya)
- Rafah, northeastern border (to and from Gaza strip, the Occupied Territories and Israel)
- Taba, eastern border (to and from Israel)

Visa Fees: (Approximate values subject to be changed)

Some examples of Egyptian tourist visa fees at a variety of consular missions

	Tourist Visa Fees	
Country	Single Entry	Multiple Entry
Argentina	18 US\$	23 US\$
Australia	35 \$A	42 \$A
Austria	300 AS	380 AS
Belgium	1100 BF	1300 BF
Brazil	25 Cr\$	30 Cr\$
Canada	25 \$c	31 \$c
Cyprus (Cypriot nationals)	8 Pound;	
Cyprus (other nationals)	12 Pound;	14 Pound;
Denmark (Danish nationals)	132 Kr	
Denmark (other nationals)	188 Kr	240 Kr
Finland (Finnish nationals)	100 Mk	Mk
Finland (other nationals)	140 Mk	175 Mk
France	25 €	30 €
Germany (German nationals)	25 €	
Germany (other nationals)	30 €	35 €
Greece	25 €	30 €
Holland	25 €	30 €

Indonesia	45,000 Rp	60,000 Rp
Ireland	16,5 £	20,5 £
Italy	25 €	30 €
Japan	5,500 Yen;	7,000 Yen;
Malaysia	46 M\$	57 M\$
Norway (Norwegian nationals)	130 Kr	
Norway (other nationals)	180 Kr	215 Kr
Portugal	25 €	
Russia (Russian nationals)	53,000 Rub	
Russia (other nationals)	85,000 Rub	
Singapore	46 S\$	58 S\$
South Korea	15,000 W	20,000 W
Spain	25 €	30 €
Sweden	170 Kr	220 Kr
Switzerland	50 SF	60 SF
United Kingdom	15 Pound;	18 Pound;
United States (US nationals)	15 \$	
United States (other nationals)	20 \$	23 \$
	1	1

(All above figures are correct at the time of posting but may be subject to change without prior notice)

Exemptions from Visa Fees

Egyptian visa fees do not apply to the following:

- Holders of diplomatic passports.
- Officials of international organizations and specialized agencies and state delegates to conferences.
- Arab League officials.
- Non-national spouses of Egyptian nationals.
- Non-national members of the clergy, prominent scientists, journalists and members of official cultural, educational and sports delegations.
- Non-national students studying in Egyptian institutions.
- Non-diplomatic personnel of diplomatic and consular missions affected in Egypt.
- Parents, siblings and adult children of members of the diplomatic and consular corps affected in Egypt.
- Nationals of Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Norway, Russia and the United States are partially exempt from Egyptian visa fees and will, therefore, pay a reduced fee.

Visa Exemptions

The following are exempt from visa requirement when visiting Egypt:

- Nationals of Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Libya, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Syria and the United Arab Emirates.
- Holders of diplomatic passports of Argentina, Bosnia Herzegovina, Italy, Malaysia, Malta, Singapore, the Slovak Republic and Turkey.